Traversing Bangalore


Today the boy and me visited Rajaji nagar after a long gap.We took buses for both the to and fro journey.South Bangalore is home now. But my memories of Bangalore go back to when we were kids and visited my grand parents near the Lalbagh area.The area now has changed with flyovers. The shesh Mahal which was a old house back then with a cock at the top, is now a commercial complex. I stared hard at the new building. Back then it was old, very very old.Thankfully the Lalbagh remains , as one of the old prides of Bangalore.

The Vasavi Vidhyaniketen is where I did the PUC from. Now I can barely recognize the building. They now have a string of degree courses happening within the same building.

What I remember about the Hebbal area is that the train from Neyveli to Bangalore passed by this place. We were fascinated by the sapota trees within the army campus that we passed by.Somehow the train was stopped for a good 10 minutes or so at this area, we used to say : train stopped at outer – outer meaning outside city limits.

Malleswaram is another area I can barely recognise. My! such massive  flyovers.A lot of loitering read dating was done around Malleswaram.What has remained are the cane shops that sell cane furniture.Somehow amidst such massive changes is one shop- the one that sells the cane furniture opposite the police station that remains.

Ironically, I took a bus at the same choultry where our wedding was conducted.Opposite it is a huge Metro construction.A few years back, we could see the famous ISCON from  our own terrace.We no longer can.

I am not a migrant that moved in here for a job.I have seen this place as a kid,I have walked the lanes of the Lalbagh  garden with my grandpa and my cousins and siblings during summer vacations.  I have watched bands playing music for Ganesh chaturthi sittiing in my grand ma’s balcony.We have shopped at a certain shop for my sisters engagement , which again I passed by today

Everything from the glass house to the Nataraj theatre playing Tamil movies in Malleswaram brings back memories

A lot of memories- that of childhood(Lalbagh area), the first work place (i.e Malleswaram), my parents home(Rajaji nagar),the city station,the Domlur area(for computer courses) is associated with Bangalore

….so much so I feel I have lived here for ever.

Leave a Reply

