The Golu season


It is the Golu season where dolls are arranged on steps , ladies are invited, thambuolams exchanged, lots of sundal to eat. The season to visit one home after another during the evenings , to bring out the pattu pavadais and silk sarees

My elder sis as well as my twin have set up golus.I guess I keep writing the same stuff again and again over the years.This year am super appreciative of my twin sis , who has set up a golu in the UK. This time around she is also pulling off a job in addition to the golu. Marvellous !! When she was in Bangalore, we purchased a lot of Chennapatna dolls enroute to Mysore. Chennapatna dolls are simply colorful and very cute to look at when kept for golu.

Any golu is incomplete without the marapachi bommai.These dolls can be dressed up as per our liking. Very popular in Bangalore ??

Golus will always remain special simply because when we were kids , amma pulled off a massive golu.Then me and my twin would make hand made pottalams using newspaper and home made gondhu to make sundal pottalams.In one of those week long holidays, we learnt about the dasavataram.A lot of time would be spent in knowing the correct arrangement of the 10 avatars. Matsya, kooorma, narasimhar…. and so would go the list. A amazing way to learn methology .

And that wasn’t all. We also pulled off parks etc along side the golu.So to make roads, we dried up used coffee or tea powder.

Some amount of time was spent to visit the shops in the only bazaar in town- the main bazaar.Every year we added some new golu bommai,mostly a toy set depicting a kalyanam/marriage or a shettiar kadai

Thanks to a tamil maami, I have been able to relive the Tamil tradition by atleast watching her posts on facebook.She has been posting amazing sundal recipes for each day of the festival. You can check her at subbuskitchen

This year the recipe for Ganesh utsav as well the short sloka for Ganesh utsav , we took from her website

And a note of appreciation to all those young ladies that continue to preserve the dolls, and then setting up the golu padi and keeping alive a rich tradition

While doing my engineering in Nagpur, I also got to watch the garba dance .That was my first visual of the navratri celebration that is done outside South India

When I moved to Hyderabad, I witnessed how sacredly the North Indians pulled off the karva chauth.

Last evening, we had a garbha dance in the apartment.And I saw a kolattam after what seemed like ages.I guess I last saw them as a small girl during dances in school !

..and the best part of the garbha was Kolaveri and the nakka mukka song !!! seriously nakka mukka !!!!

Leave a Reply

