The roads of Bengaluru


Did you ever have a day where a seemingly normal or innocent act can turn into something that is headache inducing , so much so you shudder to think about the consequences.

A few days back, I asked my cab driver to drop me at Bannerghatta road. I don’t pick my child from daycare everyday.His father does that.So I thought it will be nice to give my son a surprise and watch his face bright up if he sees me in his class in the evening.I pick him up, his face brightens up, I engage in talk with the class teacher, me and my son went to Spar which is next door to the daycare.We did some light shopping which in fact wasn’t essential at all.Even as we got our billing done, the husband turned up and waited at the daycare with the car for us to finish.He hates the Bannerghatta road , especially the narrow road leading up to the daycare which is a nuisance for vehicles to be parked.There have been days when he has received a ticket as well from the inspectors.There is no way you can park a car on Bannerghatta road and then pick a child and get moving.If you live or work around the Accenture area, you know what I am talking about.

And then the worse happens. A mini truck that was loaded with car oil , overturns just next to the car while the driver tried to climb a ramp.The mini truck narrowly misses our car and luckily does not hurt anyone around(this is evening pick up time , many parents land at the daycare , too many cars/autos/two wheelers etc). All the contents land on to the road.The narrow road now becomes even more messier and it takes additional 10 min to reverse the car and then get on the main road.

Had the truck landed on our car, or spilled its oil, well !! stopping those thoughts right there

Yesterday, the cab passed by BTM layout and as we waited at a residential colony for the traffic jam to clear up, we watched a family go furious at a motorist who landed on their car. This guy was conveniently using the walk path to drive on, due to the traffic pile up. And I wonder why a family would park their car on the foot path that was meant for pedestrians.

Last evening, the cab driver , had to apply sudden breaks. I landed with my hand forcibly on to the the front seat and had a bad ache on my left hand all evening.

The cab driver thinks you never know what you may encounter on Bengaluru roads. And I cannot agree more with him !

2 thoughts on “The roads of Bengaluru

  1. Pingback: Entering a new world « Morsmart at the End of the Galaxy

Leave a Reply

