Of Suppandi,Noddy and more…


I am reeling under severe nostalgic wave these days and why not ! I am a piscean , that loves to live and dwell in the past

This weekend we went to buy some toys and I happened to set my eyes on a 3D book for toddlers.The story was about Noah’s arc with lot of animals , a carpenter at work building a boat, what with 3D hammers and axes that looked very real. The child can pull a tag and the axe would start working on the wood , imitating how a carpenter would cut a piece of log !! imagine your child getting to see a carpenter at work sitting right at your bedroom! And then loads of animals, a lot of monkeys( my son LOVES  monkeys …he being one himself 🙂

Pull a tag, the monkey would appear and then disappear! Truely delightful stuff !!

How I wish I had such stuff as a kid myself…….

And talking about books, I must mention all that my mom did to ensure me and my twin got the very best.On salary day for dad, she would ensure she got us the latest copy of Chandamaama from the only book shop we had in Neyveli. And then we had a monthly subscription to Target and Children’s world, two books that appeared at our door step every month !! and that was my only window to the outside world, I remember both the magazines had a pen friends section , having a pen friend was very in and happening in the 80’s

And then my elder sis took us to the only government library that our town had.While my sis enjoyed the Hindi novels(Premchand ..etc), me and my twin read a lot of Noddy,Nancy Drew, Enid Byton and the likes…..

In many ways, I am very thankful to my little town for all that it offered us.I guess we had a impressive collection for such a small town. I don’t know if any other parent in that town invested in reading and buying books( let me add, parents had very less salary to fend for 4 kids !!).My writing skills was way ahead of my classmates and  mostly reading Target helped improve my writing skills . I still vividly remember  the “Letters to the Editor ” section, even sending a letter once ! Let me add, ours was not a convent !!

My friend once told me “we can provide much more than our parents provided us ” . Somewhere ,I know that this is true what with better purchasing power but I will always hold to heart very dear the Chandamaama , Target and Childrens world books… and of course lots of those Suppandi cartoons.

2 thoughts on “Of Suppandi,Noddy and more…

  1. Thanks for stopping by Pepper. Ya small towns have a charm by themselves… for a long time and still, I have a tough time crossing busy roads and signals in cities 🙂

Leave a Reply

